The Devil in the White City

I had just finished In the Garden of Beasts, also by Erik Larson, and went on a hunt for another novel of his. I stumbled across The Devil in the White City, and was not disappointed. 

An Honest Opinion: 

Anything Erik Larson writes is magic, so needless to say, this book is one of my favorites. The intertwined drama between the stories of the Chicago World Fair, the business of architecture in Chicago, and serial-murderer Dr. H. H. Holmes is so incredibly well-researched that Erik Larson transports you to Chicago in the 1890’s, and you get completely lost in the drama of the windy city.

What I Learned:

Throughout this book Erik Larson references Dr. Holmes’ eyes. How they were ice blue, and there was something sinister about them. At the time I was reading this book, I was in an unhealthy relationship, and my life was completely turned upside down when one day I looked into my ex’s eyes and I saw it – the freakishly ice blue eyes! Anytime I looked him in the eyes after finishing The Devil in the White City, I saw only Dr. Holmes. It was this constant reminder to get out that ultimately gave me the courage to do just that – get out. I’m so thankful for that constant reminder, because it gave me the courage to pursue happiness. 

Fun Fact:

The Ferris Wheel, unveiled at the Chicago World Fair, was built with the intention to structurally overshadow the Eiffel Tower, unveiled at the Paris World Fair. 

Bucket List:

  • Visit Chicago, Illinois, USA

 

Book Credit:

Larson, Erik (2003). The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic and Madness at the Fair that Changed America. New York: Random House, Inc.

Leave a Reply

